Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday - September 20th



This meme is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released as well. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. Find out more here.

Monday, September 18, 2017

First Chapter Tuesday/Teaser Tuesday - September 19th


Every Tuesday Diane at Bibliophile By the Sea hosts First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros, where we share the first paragraph or (a few) of a book we are reading or thinking about reading soon. Care to join us?




If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, now being hosted by Ambrosia at The Purple Booker. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm reading...

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Blog Tour: Protocol (A Maggie O'Malley Mystery) by Kathleen Valenti (Review/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

Protocol (A Maggie O'Malley Mystery)
by Kathleen Valenti

Protocol (A Maggie O'Malley Mystery)
Medical Thriller/Mystery
1st in Series
Henery Press (September 5, 2017)
Paperback: 276 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1635112399
E-Book ASIN: B072JZK43D

Freshly minted college graduate Maggie O’Malley embarks on a career fueled by professional ambition and a desire to escape the past. As a pharmaceutical researcher, she’s determined to save lives from the shelter of her lab. But on her very first day she’s pulled into a world of uncertainty. Reminders appear on her phone for meetings she’s never scheduled with people she’s never met. People who end up dead.

With help from her best friend, Maggie discovers the victims on her phone are connected to each other and her new employer. She soon unearths a treacherous plot that threatens her mission—and her life. Maggie must unlock deadly secrets to stop horrific abuses of power before death comes calling for her.
My Review

Maggie O’Malley is thrilled when she lands her dream job as a pharmaceutical researcher at Rxcellance. Not only is this a great jump-start to her career, but she can monetarily contribute to her father’s failing restaurant. At her new job she meets quite a variety of different personalities. Some strange, some not so strange and one really hot guy.  Maggie is determined not to let anything interfere in her work, though.

Then, a very strange thing happens. On her "new-to-her" cell phone she receives an appointment reminder, but the picture is with someone she doesn’t know and a meeting she never scheduled. The stranger ends up dead. It happens a couple more times. Each person meets the same fate as the first one.

She bought her phone second hand and figures these appointments belong to the previous owner. She tries to discover who that is, but to no avail. After a bit more digging, she learns that the victims are connected to her new company.

Along with her best friend, Constantine, Maggie sets out on a journey to learn what is really going on at Rxcellance. She is shocked to discover there is a deadly game going on and it could jeopardize everything Maggie holds dear to her heart.

I can’t believe this is the author’s debut novel. What a powerhouse of a novel! The authors descriptive writing style brings the story to life. She transports the reader right into the middle of the action with her close attention to detail.

Although this is fiction, it feels like a realistic and frightening look into the pharmaceutical world. I was at the edge-of-my-seat, scared to death for Maggie.  The ending was a surprise to me.  I never saw that coming.  I wish I could think of another term for fast-paced, but that was what this was to the extreme.

I can’t even imagine how good the second book will be, but I’m already looking forward to more books by this author. She’s off to an amazing start.



For reading challenges:
Cloak & Dagger Reading Challenge 2017

FTC Disclosure: I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.

About the Author


When Kathleen Valenti isn’t writing page-turning mysteries that combine humor and suspense, she works as a nationally award-winning advertising copywriter. Protocol is her debut novel and the first of the Maggie O’Malley mystery series. Kathleen lives in Oregon with her family where she pretends to enjoy running.

Author Links

Webpage - www.kathleenvalenti.com

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/authorkathleenvalenti/

Twitter - https://twitter.com/KathyValenti1

GoodReads - https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16773270.Kathleen_Valenti

Purchase Links


Tour-Wide Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway



TOUR PARTICIPANTS

September 5 – Cozy Up With Kathy – INTERVIEW

September 6 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW, EXCERPT

September 7 – A Holland Reads - CHARACTER GUEST POST

September 8 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

September 9 – Reading Is My SuperPower - REVIEW

September 10 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too! – SPOTLIGHT

September 11 – Jane Reads - REVIEW, GUEST POST

September 12 – Girl with Book Lungs - CHARACTER INTERVIEW

September 13 – Island Confidential – INTERVIEW

September 14 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

September 15 – A Blue Million Books - CHARACTER GUEST POST, EXCERPT

September 16 – Lori's Reading Corner – GUEST POST

September 17 – Socrates Book Reviews – REVIEW

September 18 – Because I said so -- and other adventures in Parenting – REVIEW

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!


Saturday, September 16, 2017

Sunday/Monday Posts - September 17th and 18th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Friday, September 15, 2017

Friendly Fill-Ins - September 15th


This meme is hosted by Ann at McGuffy's Reader and Ellen at 15andmeowing. Each week they will post four fill-in statements.

Here are my answers to this weeks statements...

The Friday 56




This is a fun meme to do hosted by Freda's Voice. If you'd like to join on the fun go to The Friday 56.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Link it here.

It's that simple.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Blog Tour: Hair Brained (The Bad Hair Day Mysteries) by Nancy J. Cohen (Review/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

Hair Brained (The Bad Hair Day Mysteries)
by Nancy J. Cohen


Hair Brained (The Bad Hair Day Mysteries)

Cozy Mystery
14th in Series
Orange Grove Press (September 12, 2017)
Print Length: 342 pages
E-Book ASIN: B072XVHPPH

Was the car crash an accident or a deliberate attempt to run Marla's friends off the road?
When hairstylist Marla Vail's best friend is hurt in a suspicious car accident, Marla assumes guardianship of her infant son. No sooner does Marla say, "Baby want a bottle?" than she's embroiled in another murder investigation. Her husband, Detective Dalton Vail, determines the crash may not have been an accident after all. But then, who would want Tally--or Ken in the car with her--out of the way? As Marla digs deeper into her friends' lives, she realizes she didn't know them as well as she'd thought. Nonetheless, it's her duty as their son's guardian to ensure his safety, even if it means putting her own life at risk. Can she protect the baby and find the culprit before someone else ends up as roadkill?

My Review

It’s a New Year’s celebration at Marla and Dalton Vail’s house. They are surrounded by family and friends, but two important people are missing. Her best friend Tally and her husband, Ken. The party is interrupted when Marla’s husband, detective Dalton Vail, receives a phone call. Tally and Ken have been in a car accident, but it’s not looking like an accident at all.

As Tally fights for her life, Marla accepts guardianship of Tally’s baby boy and delves into the mystery of her friend’s so-called accident. Along with her detective husband Dalton, Marla begins to uncover things about her friends that makes her wonder what is really going on in their lives. From possible insurance fraud to a strange group of ladies Tally recently joined in a tea group.

Regardless of what she uncovers, Marla is determined to protect their son and find out who is behind this. This, also, has Marla considering if motherhood would be something for her in the near future.

There were several twists and turns, plus many red herrings in this book. Just when I thought I knew what was going on, the author threw in a few extra curves to have me scratching my head.

The characters are well-developed and realistic. They have quickly become old friends. I always look forward to another visit to South Florida to spend some time with Marla and her family.

Nancy J. Cohen does it again and brings us another exciting “Bad Hair Day Mystery” story. This is the 14th book in the series. I came into it at #10 and I don’t feel as if I’ve missed a thing. There is plenty of character history given throughout the book. The actual mystery is contained in this book, so you don’t really need to read the previous books. However, I always find it fun to start at the beginning of these type of series. Eventually I will have a chance to read books #1-9. Until then, I’m enjoying each of the new books very much.

Overall, this is a fun, enjoyable series filled with lovable characters. It’s the perfect way to spend a few hours.



For reading challenges:
Cloak & Dagger Reading Challenge 2017
Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge 2017
FTC Disclosure: I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.


About The Author

Nancy J. Cohen writes the Bad Hair Day Mysteries featuring South Florida hairstylist Marla Vail. Titles in this series have made the IMBA bestseller list and been selected by Suspense Magazine as best cozy mystery. Nancy has also written the instructional guide, Writing the Cozy Mystery. Her imaginative romances, including the Drift Lords series, have proven popular with fans as well. A featured speaker at libraries, conferences, and community events, Nancy is listed in Contemporary Authors, Poets & Writers, and Who's Who in U.S. Writers, Editors, & Poets. When not busy writing, she enjoys fine dining, cruising, visiting Disney World, and shopping.

Author Links:

Website:  http://nancyjcohen.com

Blog: http://nancyjcohen.wordpress.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NancyJCohenAuthor

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nancyjcohen

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/91508.Nancy_J_Cohen

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/njcohen/

Linked In:  http://www.linkedin.com/in/nancyjcohen

Booklover’s Bench: http://bookloversbench.com

Newsletter Sign-Up: http://nancyjcohen.com/newsletter/



Purchase Links:


Tour-Wide Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway


TOUR PARTICIPANTS

September 12 – Laura's Interests – REVIEW

September 12 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf - INTERVIEW

September 13 – Socrates' Book Reviews - REVIEW

September 13 – Readeropolis – SPOTLIGHT

September 14 – Community Bookstop - REVIEW

September 14 – Island Confidential - CHARACTER INTERVIEW

September 15 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book - REVIEW

September 15 – Back Porchervations – REVIEW

September 16 – Brooke Blogs - CHARACTER GUEST POST

September 17 – A Holland Reads -  GUEST POST

September 18 – Deal Sharing Aunt -  INTERVIEW

September 18 – Readeropolis – SPOTLIGHT

September 19 – Cozy Up With Kathy - GUEST POST

September 19 – Bibliophile Reviews – REVIEW

September 20 – StoreyBook Reviews - GUEST POST

September 20 – Celticlady's Reviews - SPOTLIGHT

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!






Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday - September 13th



This meme is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released as well. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. Find out more here.

Book Giveaway Winner






The winner of A Tale of Two Kitties by Sofie Kelly is:


Lisa B. 


The winner has been notified by email.

Congrats to Lisa! 

Thanks to all who participated!

First Chapter Tuesday/Teaser Tuesday - September 12th


Every Tuesday Diane at Bibliophile By the Sea hosts First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros, where we share the first paragraph or (a few) of a book we are reading or thinking about reading soon. Care to join us?




If you'd like to play along on Teaser Tuesdays, just click the button above.


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, now being hosted by Ambrosia at The Purple Booker. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


This week I'm reading...

Saturday, September 9, 2017

Sunday/Monday Posts - September 10th and 11th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Blog Tour: A Knit Before Dying by Sadie Hartwell (Review/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

A Knit Before Dying
by Sadie Hartwell


A Knit before Dying (A Tangled Web Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Kensington (August 29, 2017)
Paperback: 288 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1617737206
E-Book ASIN: B01CMGW66U

A new business might add some much-needed charm to downtown Dorset Falls—and draw tourists to Josie’s yarn shop. But when someone gets murdered, a close-knit community could come undone . . .

Shop owner Josie Blair is finally settling into the pace of living in Dorset Falls, Connecticut. Between running Miss Marple’s Knits, jumpstarting a blog, and handcrafting items with the help of her knitting pals, Josie’s too preoccupied to worry about her past in New York. And thanks to Lyndon and Harry, the owners of the brand new antique shop across the street, she has another project in her midst—repurposing a box of vintage crocheted doilies adorned with the most curious needlework . . .

But before Josie can formally welcome her neighbors, she discovers Lyndon stabbed to death by a rusty old pair of sheep shears on the floor of his shop. Police have pinned Harry as the killer, but Josie isn’t so sure. Now, she’s lacing up for another homicide investigation—and no eyelet or stitch can go unexamined, lest she herself becomes ensnared in the criminal’s deadly design . . .

INCLUDES ORIGINAL KNITTING PATTERNS!

My Review

Josie Blair wasn’t sure how moving her life from New York to the small town of Dorset Falls, Connecticut would work out for her, but things are going well. She is very happy with the success of her shop, Miss Marple’s Knits. She wants nothing more than to see the floundering town come to life with even more businesses. So, Josie is more than delighted when a new antique shop opens right next door. The new owner seems nice enough, but when she finds him dead in his shop, she doesn’t know what to think. The police arrest the man’s partner, but Josie is convinced there’s more to his death than anyone suspects.

As Josie does her own investigating, stumbles upon an old murder mystery that happens to be connected to her friends in Dorset Falls. She wonders if the old murder case may have something to do with the new one. She can’t leave it alone and continues to snoop around.

There’s also a side story involving Josie’s uncle Eb fighting with his old friend Roy, who happens to be the father of a man Josie is more than interested in. Josie and Mitch are getting closer all the time, but Eb and Roy are major stumbling blocks.

The story is more mystery than romance, which is good. The reader becomes engrossed in playing sleuth right along with Josie. There were so many different possibilities.

The author expertly combines both history with the present day. It’s done in an intriguing manner. It kept my interest from the beginning and never let go. I wanted to know what was going on and who was behind it all.

This is the second book in a series, but they do stand alone. However, it’s more fun when you get to know the characters right from the start. Beautifully developed characters who we met previously along with some new ones made for an entertaining read.



For reading challenges:
Cloak & Dagger Reading Challenge 2017
Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge 2017
Cruisin’ thru the Cozies Reading Challenge 2017

FTC Disclosure: I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.


11357125_971118012944218_8414614081138047629_o

About The Author 

Sadie Hartwell grew up near the Canadian border in northern New York State, where it’s cold, dark, and snowy almost half the year—a perfect environment for nurturing a simultaneous love of mystery fiction and needlework. She attended St. Lawrence University, graduating with a degree in history, and has worked as a waitress, handbag designer/manufacturer, paralegal, and copy editor before turning to writing full time. Now she gets to play with yarn and make up stories whenever she wants, and wishes everyone had a job as much fun as hers.


Webpage     Twitter - @SadieHartwell    Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon  B&N  kobo  GooglePlay

Tour-Wide Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway


TOUR PARTICIPANTS

August 28 – Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf – INTERVIEW

August 29 – Becky's Bookcase – REVIEW

August 30 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – COZY WEDNESDAY

August 31 – Valerie's Musings – REVIEW

August 31 – Queen of All She Reads – REVIEW

September 1 – Teresa Trent Author Blog – SPOTLIGHT

September 2 – Community Bookstop – REVIEW

September 3 – A Holland Reads – SPOTLIGHT  

September 4 – Island Confidential – INTERVIEW

September 4 – Laura's Interests – REVIEW

September 5 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW

September 6 – The Book's the Thing – REVIEW, GUEST POST

September 6 – Socrates' Book Reviews – REVIEW

September 7 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

September 8 – Melina's Book Blog – REVIEW

September 8 – A Blue Million Books – INTERVIEW

September 9 – The Power of Words – REVIEW

September 10 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW, GUEST POST

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!