Friday, November 24, 2017

2018 Cruisin' Thru The Cozies Reading Challenge - Sign Up




Welcome to the eighth annual Cruisin' thru the Cozies Reading Challenge! I'm changing things up again this year. Some readers enjoyed reading the sub-genres, others found it too difficult. So, this year, we’re going to have something for everyone.

To find out exactly what a cozy mystery is, check out Cozy-Mystery.com. This site is dedicated to cozy mysteries and does a great job of defining them as well as giving a list of cozy mysteries. This challenge is NOT restricted to what is on their list, it's just to be used as a guideline in case you need some hints on what to read.

2018 What An Animal Reading Challenge - Sign Up


Welcome to the 2018 What an Animal Reading Challenge. I began hosting this challenge in 2010, when I took it over from Kristi at Passion for the Page. I love reading books that feature animals and am going to host this one again. I hope you will join me.

The Purrfect Reading Challenge 2018 - Sign Up


Two of my favorite things are cats and mysteries. So, I figured the *purrfect* reading challenge for me would be reading cat mysteries. It's very simple, this challenge is all about reading mysteries that have cats as the main characters. Here are a few examples...

2017 Cruisin' thru the Cozies Reading Challenge Wrap Up


Thank you to all who participated in the 2017 Cruisin' Thru The Cozies Reading Challenge. I hope you all had fun and read many great cozy mysteries. We're getting ready for the 2018 challenge, but first let's see what you read in 2017. If you'd like to let us know, just link your wrap up post below.


2017 What An Animal Reading Challenge - Wrap Up


Thanks to everyone who participated in the 2017 What An Animal Reading Challenge. I hope you all enjoyed it. We are getting ready for the 2018 challenge, but first you can now link up your 2017 wrap up posts. Let us know what books you read for the 2017 challenge by linking up below. Hope to see you all next year!


2017 Cat Mystery Reading Challenge - Wrap Up



Thanks to all who participated in the 2017 The Purrfect Reading Challenge.  If you have completed it, please feel free to link your wrap up post below.  We'd all love to see what you read this year.  I hope you had fun and will join us once again in 2018!





Thursday, November 23, 2017

Review: Taking Shots by Toni Aleo


Genre:
Romance

Format:
Audio

Publisher:
Tantor Media

Release Date:
December 13, 2013






Monday, November 20, 2017

Blog Tour: Bones To Pick by Linda Lovely (Review/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

Bones To Pick

by Linda Lovely

on Tour October 16 - December 16, 2017



Synopsis:

Bones To Pick by Linda Lovely

Living on a farm with four hundred goats and a cantankerous carnivore isn’t among vegan chef Brie Hooker’s list of lifetime ambitions. But she can’t walk away from her Aunt Eva, who needs help operating her dairy.

Once she calls her aunt’s goat farm home, grisly discoveries offer ample inducements for Brie to employ her entire vocabulary of cheese-and-meat curses. The troubles begin when the farm’s pot-bellied pig unearths the skull of Eva’s husband, who disappeared years back. The sheriff, kin to the deceased, sets out to pin the murder on Eva. He doesn’t reckon on Brie’s resolve to prove her aunt’s innocence. Death threats, ruinous pedicures, psychic shenanigans, and biker bar fisticuffs won’t stop Brie from unmasking the killer, even when romantic befuddlement throws her a curve.

Book Details:

Genre: Humorous Cozy Mystery

Published by: Henery Press

Publication Date: Oct. 24, 2017

Number of Pages: 266

ISBN: 9781635112597

Series: Brie Hooker Mystery, #1

Get Your Copy of Bones To Pick by Linda Lovely at: Amazon Barnes & Noble Goodreads

Saturday, November 18, 2017

Sunday/Monday Posts - November 19th and 20th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Book Blast: They Don't Shoot Horses by Sara Caudell (Tour-Wide Giveaway)






About the Book

Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
DMK Publishing(May 18, 2015)
Paperback: 344 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1541036017
E-Book ASIN: B00XWCRAGU

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Blog Tour: Canal Days Calamity (A Dog Days Mystery) by Jamie M. Blair (Spotlight/Tour-Wide Review)

Canal Days Calamity (A Dog Days Mystery)
by Jamie M. Blair


Canal Days Calamity (A Dog Days Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Midnight Ink (November 8, 2017)
Paperback: 240 pages
ISBN-13: 978-0738751221
E-Book ASIN: B01N5RVJDY

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Gratitude Giveaway Hop



Socrates' Book Reviews is participating in this year's Gratitude Giveaway.  The giveaway hop is hosted by Mary at BookHounds.

I'd like to take this time to thank all of you for visiting my blog throughout the year.  You are the best and make me want to keep going. Don't forget to visit the other participants in the giveaway listed below.

For my regular readers, you know my reading heart belongs to the cozy mystery genre, so my giveaway is for 4 cozy mysteries that I've enjoyed  Just click on the covers to get to their Goodreads page...




Just a few simple rules...

1) You must fill out the rafflecopter form below.

2) US Residents Only

3) For one entry: Leave a comment

The giveaway begins on November 15th (midnight est) and ends on November 30th (midnight est).

The winner will be chosen randomly by Rafflecopter. The winner will be notified by email and has 48 hours to respond, otherwise a new winner will be chosen. I will announce the winner here on my blog.

Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway




Blog Tour: A Fatal Collection (A Keepsake Cove Mystery) by Mary Ellen Hughes (Spotlight/Tour-Wide Giveaway)


A Fatal Collection (A Keepsake Cove Mystery)
by Mary Ellen Hughes

A Fatal Collection (A Keepsake Cove Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Setting - Maryland
Midnight Ink (November 8, 2017)
Paperback: 264 pages
ISBN-13: 978-0738752198
E-Book ASIN: B01MR8L4IS


Sunday, November 12, 2017

Sunday/Monday Posts - November 12th and 13th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Blog Tour: Broken Promises (A Past Imperfect Mystery) by Anne Willow (Spotlight/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

Broken Promises (A Past Imperfect Mystery)
by Anne Willow


Broken Promises (A Past Imperfect Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Between the Lines Publishing (August 15, 2017)
Print Length: 212 pages
ASIN: B0747PPNKJ

Spotlight: Not a Creature Was Purring by Krista Davis



About the Book

Genre: Cozy Mystery, #5 in A Paws and Claws Mystery Series
Publisher: Berkley
Release Date: November 7, 2017

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Blog Tour: That Olde White Magick (An Abracadabra Mystery) by Sharon Pape (Spotlight/Tour-Wide Giveaway)

That Olde White Magick (An Abracadabra Mystery)
by Sharon Pape


That Olde White Magick (An Abracadabra Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Lyrical Underground (November 7, 2017)
Paperback: 240 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1516100583
E-Book ASIN: B06X3TLCLH

Spotlight: Romancing the Singer by Cami Checketts



Two superstars, two lonely hearts, and the storm that tears them apart.
Don't miss this Return to Snow Valley Romance by bestselling inspirational author, Cami Checketts.
Daisy Castleton hasn’t
been home since she won 
Singing with the Stars and a huge
recording contract, but where else do you escape from the tabloid sharks when
you discover you have throat cancer? Daisy wants nothing more than to disappear
as she faces the fact that she may never sing again. Between family issues and
an impossible to ignore attraction to her childhood hero, Daisy can’t catch a
break. After all, how do you stop yourself from falling in love with
the perfect guy? 
 
Jamison Hall came home
to Snow Valley after a successful career in the European Basketball
Association. When he literally runs Daisy off a hiking trail with his horse, he
discovers a connection and love he’d never imagined. But Daisy is like a
beautiful fairy: always out of reach and afraid even the best of men will burn her
wings.  
Can they survive a snow storm and the media storm, together?

Snow Valley Romances by Cami Checketts


Saturday, November 4, 2017

Sunday/Monday Posts - November 5th and 6th





The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It's a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

If you'd like to participate with The Sunday Salon, it is now a Facebook group.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is a meme with a new host!  It's now being hosted by Kathryn at Book Date. This is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I'm also linking to  Stacking The Shelves which is hosted by Team Tynga's Reviews.